Gamble Fragrance Award Winners

The James Alexander Gamble Fragrance Medal is awarded to outstanding new and "classic" very fragrant roses. The selection is made by the ARS Prizes and Awards Committee for the rose considered the most fragrant in municipal and private gardens throughout the United States over a five-year period. The rose must be registered and must be rated at least 8.0. It is not mandatory that a rose be selected yearly for this medal.

Awards are only to be made when an outstanding new fragrant variety is available. The medal is to be awarded to the hybridizer of the named fragrant new rose at the Fall Annual Meeting of the American Rose Society.
Rose Hybridizer Year
Crimson Glory Wilhelm Kordes 1961
Tiffany Robert Lindquist 1962
Chrysler Imperial Dr. Walter E. Lammerts 1965
Sutter's Gold Herbert C. Swim 1966
Granada Robert Lindquist 1968
Fragrant Cloud Mathias Tantau 1970
Papa Meilland Alain Meilland 1974
Sunsprite Wilhelm Kordes 1979
Double Delight Herbert C. Swim & Arnold W. Ellis 1986
Fragrant Hour Sam McGredy IV 1997
Angel Face Herbert C. Swim and Oliver Weeks 2002
Secret Daniel Tracey 2003
Mister Lincoln Weeks Roses 2004

Go Back

Roses Home